La Plata County

Encompassing over 1700 square miles, La Plata County is home to Durango, CO, the largest town in the county.  Durango has easy access to many adventurous opportunities including National Parks and Monuments.  Take a day trip to Mesa Verde National Park, Four Corners National Monument, Hovenweep National Monument or Crow Canyon Archaeological Center.  La Plata County is also home to the  Southern Ute Indian Tribe Reservation, which covers 1059 square miles, in Archuleta, La Plata  and Montezuma counties and houses the renowned Southern Ute Museum and Cultural Center in Ignacio, CO.